How Mt Kenya region lost the revenue sharing formula because of electing academically dwarf leaders – MP Ndindi Nyoro

Mt Kenya Region and Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro has claimed that the revenue sharing formula that was passed on Thursday after months of impasse has left Mt Kenya worse off than before.

After months of standoff characterised by arrests, claims of intimidation, bribery, blackmail and a record 10 adjournments, senators struck a deal and voted to approve the third basis for sharing revenue among counties.

All the 41 elected senators (delegations) present in the House voted unanimously to approve the formula in a session that saw factions that have been warring for months close ranks. 

Nairobi, Nakuru, Kiambu and Turkana will get the lion’s share of Sh370 billion set to be allocated to the counties in the next financial year.

“Disappointingly, Deep state and Senate has left Mt Kenya worse off than before. The “One Man, One Shilling, One Vote” has been torn into pieces and sold to the highest bidder,” Nyoro said.

Via Twitter on Thursday evening, Nyoro said with the additional Sh 53 Billion and shareable revenue of Sh 370 Billion, Mt Kenya got a raw deal.

“We lost. Our 11 counties namely Tharaka Nithi, Nyeri, Embu, Murang’a, Kirinyaga, Laikipia, Nyandarua, Meru, Kiambu, Nakuru & Satellite Lamu with a combined population of 10.78M got Sh 74.9B. Meaning each resident got Sh 6,800,” he said.

“With Sh 370B to share among counties, the National Per capita allocation is Sh 7,890. At 6,800, Mt Kenya region was shortchanged.”

Nyoro claimed that as Mt Kenya they were supposed to get Sh84b if they were to use the National Per Capita allocation as the baseline.

“We therefore got less Sh 10 Billion. Even on the additional Sh 53 Billion which was ostensibly meant to right the past wrongs, we still got lower at Sh 12.1 B against Sh12.2 B that was due to us,” he said.

“Before we chest thump on “how we won”, let us all know that we actually lost. Mt Kenya region lost while we still have the “Deep State and Serikali”. You can’t argue with facts. They are stubborn.”

In the new formula, Nairobi will get additional Sh3.3 billion from the exchequer, to push its total allocation to Sh19.2 billion from the current Sh15.9 billion.

Nakuru’s allocation will balloon to Sh13 billion from the current Sh10.4 billion, Kiambu’s will be Sh11.7 billion after an additional Sh2.2 billion, while Turkana’s will be Sh12.6 billion from Sh10.5 billion.

Other big gainers are Kakamega, which will get additional Sh1.9 billion, Bungoma (Sh1.7 billion), Uasin Gishu (Sh1.7 billion), Nandi (Sh1.6 billion), Kitui (Sh1.5 billion) and Kajiado (1.5 billion).


Author: Alex

Alex is a Kenyan blogger writing on technology, fraud, social media and politics at Nairobi Today.

email:: admin[at]nairobitoday.co.ke

Leave a Reply